back to top

Finalists announced for Kent Press & Broadcast Awards 2018

May, 2018

A panel of expert judges has shortlisted 60 finalists in 15 categories for the Kent Press & Broadcast Awards (KPBA) 2018.

Organised by Kent PR and marketing agency Maxim, KPBA is designed to celebrate and reward regional and local journalism. The not-for-profit scheme received 148 entries, the most in its four-year history.

This year three new judges joined the panel: Gillian Hargreaves, who spent 25 years with BBC news; Rebecca Smith, former senior editor for Kent Regional News and Media; and Leo Whitlock, a local newspaper journalist for more than 20 years, much of which was spent at the KM Media Group.

They joined Susie Boniface, a national journalist known as Fleet Street Fox; PA photographer Gareth Fuller; sports journalist and lecturer Paul Majendie; digital consultant Patrick Fuller; and journalist and lecturer Dr Sarah Lonsdale.

The Kent Live team celebrating being finalists in numerous #KPBA categories including Kent Website of the Year, Kent Front Page of the Year and Best Use of Social Media. Picture credit: Kent Live 

Maxim’s Rachel Knight said: “The judges take their role very seriously and spend a long time reviewing all the entries and then deliberating over the results. The language was worse this year which means they are the most passionate panel yet!”

The results will be announced at the KPBA ceremony, which is being hosted by BBC News’ Simon McCoy, at The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence, Canterbury on Friday, July 13.

ITV News Meridian is shortlisted for Kent Programme of the Year while John Ryall is up for Kent Broadcast Journalist of the Year. Picture credit: ITV News Meridian

The full list of finalists is below:

Best Use of Social media, sponsored by Eurotunnel

  • Kent Live – Kent Traffic & Travel
  • KM Charity Team
  • Save Our Buses, Kent Live
  • Tom Darby, BBC South East

Kent Broadcast Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Barretts

  • John Ryall, ITV News Meridian
  • Lauren Moss, BBC South East Today
  • Leanne Rinne, BBC South East Today
  • Louisa Britton, KMTV

Kent Columnist of the Year, sponsored by Kent Invicta Chamber of Commerce

  • Chris Hunter, Medway Messenger
  • Nikki White, Medway Messenger
  • Seb Reilly, The Isle of Thanet News
  • Stringer, Gravesend Messenger

Kent Design/er of the Year, sponsored by Westwood Cross

  • ‘cene magazine
  • Matthew Panting, KM Media Group
  • Paul Acres, Kent Messenger / Gravesend Messenger
  • Samantha Barton, Kent Life

Kent Feature Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Saga

  • Jo Burn, BBC Radio Kent
  • Joe Walker, Kentish Gazette
  • Mike Gunnill, Bygone Kent
  • Samuel Supple, BBC Inside Out & BBC South East Today

Kent Front Page of the Year, sponsored by Yoyo Design

  • Ashley Austen, Kent Messenger
  • Gravesend Messenger
  • Kent Life
  • Kent & Sussex Courier

Kent Magazine of the Year, sponsored by Shepherd Neame

  • Bygone Kent
  • ‘cene magazine
  • Isle Magazine
  • Kent Life

Kent New Journalist of the Year, sponsored by EKC Group

  • Andy Robinson, Kent Live
  • Harry Peet, KMTV
  • Katie Boyden, Kent Live
  • Keilan Webster, KMTV

Kent News Website of the Year, sponsored by LKM Recycling

  • Isle of Thanet News
  • Kent Live
  • KentOnline
  • The Canterbury Journal

Kent Newspaper of the Year, sponsored by Southeastern

  • Dartford & Gravesend Messengers
  • Kentish Gazette
  • Kent Messenger
  • Medway Messenger

Kent Photographer of the Year, sponsored by Clive Emson Auctioneers

  • Andy Jones, Freelance / KM Media Group
  • Frank Leppard, Kent Live / Isle of Thanet Gazette
  • Gary Browne, KM Media Group
  • Matt Walker, Freelance / KM Media Group

Kent Print Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Benenden Hospital Trust

  • Dan Wright, Kentish Express
  • Ed McConnell, Gravesend & Dartford Messengers
  • Guy Bell, Kent Messenger
  • Marijke Hall, Kentish Gazette Series

Kent Programme of the Year, sponsored by Digitom Video Content Agency

  • BBC South East Today
  • ITV News Meridian
  • Kent Non-League Podcast
  • kmfm Drivetime with Rob Wills ‘Make Someone’s Christmas’

Kent Sports Journalist of the Year, supported by Kent Cricket

  • Benjamin Watts, BBC Radio Kent
  • Cameron Tucker, KMTV
  • Keilan Webster, KMTV
  • Stephen Page, Kent & Sussex Courier / Folkestone Herald / Sevenoaks Chronicle / Isle of Thanet Gazette / Dover Express

Kent Young Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Port of Dover

  • Andy Robinson, Kent Live
  • Harry Peet, KMTV
  • Luke May, Kent Messenger
  • Sian Elvin, Kent Live

To find out more visit

The Kent Messenger team celebrating being a finalist in the Kent Newspaper of the Year category.

posted in: maxim/client news,

we'd love to work with you

get in touch